Senator Louis P. Bertonazzi Foundation Inc. Outstanding Teacher Award

  • Process Underway To Select Outstanding Teacher

    MILFORD - The Board of Directors of the Senator Louis P. Bertonazzi Foundation has begun the process of selecting a teacher in the Milford School System as the recipient of the annual Outstanding Teacher award.

    The prestigious award carries a $1,000 cash prize for the recipient. Foundation directors said nominees for the award are recommended by the six school councils in the Milford public school system.

    Dr. Carl DiGregorio, a former Milford School Committee member, is President of the Foundation.

    “The criteria for selection,” said DiGregorio, “include innovative and effective teaching methods; engagement in professional development; and engagement with students, teachers, administrators, parents and the school community.”  More information about the criteria and selection process can be found below:

    Criteria and selection process - English

    Critérios e processo de seleção - Portuguese

    Criterios y proceso de selección - Español

    DiGregorio said that nominations by the school councils are turned over to a selection committee comprised of seven members of the community.  

    Foundation directors are again inviting school staff and citizens at large to participate in the nomination process. Recommendation forms will be available at the principals’ offices in the various school buildings and are provided below:

    Citizen Recommendation Form - English

    Formulario de Recomendacao de Cidadao – Portugues

    Formulario de Recomendacion Ciudadana - Espanol

    Staff Recommendation Form

    The forms must be submitted through the principals to the school councils by the second Friday in January. In addition to DiGregorio, Foundation directors are David L. Bertonazzi, Joseph Nigro, Julie Richards, Andrew Diorio, Ellen Murphy, and Gail Crimaldi.